Department of Geography Faculty

Offering world-class geographic knowledge and expertise at local, national and international scales, with a special focus on Asian and the Pacific.

David Beilman

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 419
1 (808) 956-7311
beilman@hawaii.edu
Biogeography, Climate Change, Ecosystems

Qi Chen

Professor
Office: Saunders 435
1 (808) 956-3524
qichen@hawaii.edu
Remote Sensing, GIS, Environmental Science

Thomas Giambelluca

Professor
Office: Saunders 417
1 (808) 956-7390
thomas@hawaii.edu
Climatology, Hydrology, Ecohydrology

Hong Jiang

Associate Professor, Department Chair
Office: Saunders 445B
1 (808) 956-3510
hjiang@hawaii.edu
Culture, Perception of Nature, China

Reece Jones

Professor, Graduate Chair
Office: Saunders 412
1 (808) 956-7683
reecej@hawaii.edu
Political Geography, Border Studies, Migration

Lisa C. Kelley

Assistant Professor
On leave
Faculty duties begin in Fall 2018
lckelley@hawaii.edu
Remote sensing, Political Ecology, Land Use

Camilo Mora

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 413
1 (808) 956-7093
cmora@hawaii.edu
Biodiversity Threats and Conservation

Mary Mostafanezhad

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 415
1 (808) 956-0653
mostafan@hawaii.edu
Popular Geopolitics, Tourism, Political Ecology

Yi Qiang

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 416
1 (808) 956-7526
yi.qiang@hawaii.edu
GIS, Visual Analytics, Geocomputation

Alison Rieser

Professor
Office: Saunders 440
1 (808) 956-8467
rieser@hawaii.edu
Ocean Geopolitics, Marine Environmental Law

Krisna Suryanata

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 438
1 (808) 956-7384
krisnawa@hawaii.edu
Political Ecology, Agric. & Food, Indonesia

Faculty, Ross Sutherland, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Ross Sutherland

Professor
Office: Saunders 439
1 (808) 956-7157
sutherla@hawaii.edu
Fluvial Geomorphology, Soil Erosion

Brian Szuster

Associate Professor, Undergraduate Chair
Office: Saunders 436
1 (808) 956-7345
szuster@hawaii.edu
Aquaculture, Shrimp, Coastal, Tourism, EIA