Current MA Students

The following are select MA degree candidates. Browse our listing of MA recipients, select PhD candidates, and PhD recipients.

MA, Derek Ford, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Derek Ford

djford@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Forest Pathology

Advisor: Qi Chen

MA, Olivia Marohnic, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Olivia Marohnic

marohnic@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Hawaiian Paleoclimatology, Paleohydrology, Hawaiian Wetland Ecosystems, Ecosystem Sensitivity, Climate Change

Advisor: David Beilman

MA, Kirsten Moy, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Kirsten Moy

kmoy@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Coastal and Marine Resource Management, Coral Reef Mitigation, Geographic Information System (GIS), Community-Based Conservation, Marine Debris

Advisor: Alison Rieser

PhD, Heidi Needham, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Heidi Needham

hneedham@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Ecological Climatology, Climate Change, Climate Models, Natural Resource Management, Science Education, Outreach Activities with Underrepresented Groups

Advisor: Tom Giambelluca

MA, Li Philips, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Li Philips

lphilips@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Tourism, Sustainable Development, Integrated Coastal Management, Southeast Asia

Advisor: Brian Szuster

MA, Liat Portner, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Liat Portner

lportner@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Ecohydrology, Land Use Changes, Restoration Ecology, Ecosystem Services, Science Communication and Education

Advisor: Tom Giambelluca

MA, Ritchie Myles, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Myles Ritchie

mylest@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Tropical Arboriculture, Forest Ecology, Urban Forestry, Geographic Information System (GIS), Climate Change

Advisor: Brian Szuster

MA, Salvatore Saluga, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Salvatore Saluga

ssaluga@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Sports Geography, Political Geography, Cultural Studies, Borders, International Relations, Human Migration, Nationalism

Advisor: Reece Jones

MA, Silvia Sulis, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Silvia Sulis

silviasu@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Land Use, Environmental Policy, Sustainable Development, Urbanization, Geographic Information System (GIS), Climate Change

Advisor: Yi Qiang

MA, Ross Winans, Department of Geography, College of Social Sciences, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Ross Winans

winansw@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Watershed Management, Natural Resource Management

Advisor: Qi Chen