Current MA Students

The following are select geography MA degree candidates.


MA, Derek Ford, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Derek Ford

djford@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Forest Pathology

Advisor: Qi Chen

MA, Olivia Marohnic, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Olivia Marohnic

marohnic@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Hawaiian Paleoclimatology, Paleohydrology, Hawaiian Wetland Ecosystems, Ecosystem Sensitivity, Climate Change

Advisor: David Beilman

MA, Kirsten Moy, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Kirsten Moy

kmoy@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Coastal and Marine Resource Management, Coral Reef Mitigation, Geographic Information System (GIS), Community-Based Conservation, Marine Debris

Advisor: Alison Rieser

PhD, Heidi Needham, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Heidi Needham

hneedham@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Ecological Climatology, Climate Change, Climate Models, Natural Resource Management, Science Education, Outreach Activities with Underrepresented Groups

Advisor: Tom Giambelluca

MA, Li Philips, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Li Philips

lphilips@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Tourism, Sustainable Development, Integrated Coastal Management, Southeast Asia

Advisor: Brian Szuster

MA, Liat Portner, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Liat Portner

lportner@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Ecohydrology, Land Use Changes, Restoration Ecology, Ecosystem Services, Science Communication and Education

Advisor: Tom Giambelluca

MA, Ritchie Myles, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Myles Ritchie

mylest@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Tropical Arboriculture, Forest Ecology, Urban Forestry, Geographic Information System (GIS), Climate Change

Advisor: Brian Szuster

MA, Michael Rupic, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Michael Rupic

rupic@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Biodiversity Conservation, Climate Change, Sustainability, Human-Environment Interactions, Pacific Islands

Advisor: David Beilman

Graduated, Spring 2018 - MA, Salvatore Saluga, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Salvatore Saluga

ssaluga@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Sports Geography, Political Geography, Cultural Studies, Borders, International Relations, Human Migration, Nationalism

Advisor: Reece Jones

MA, Kristen Sanfilippo, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Kristen Sanfilippo

ksanfili@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Climate Change, Human-Environment Relationship, Climate Change Mitigation, Global Environmental Change, Earth System Modeling, Climatology, The Carbon Cycle, Biogeography

Advisor: Tom Giambelluca

MA, Edward Serrano, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Edward Serrano

eos@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Environmental Mapping (trees and mountains), Remote Sensing for City Analysis, Historical Geography, Geoarchaeology

Advisor: Qi Chen

MA, Renee Setter, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Renee Setter

rsetter@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Marine Conservation, GIS, Remote Sensing, Coral Bleaching, Coral Restoration

Advisor: Camilo Mora

MA, Silvia Sulis, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Silvia Sulis

silviasu@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Sustainable Urban Development, Green Infrastructure, Urban Geography, Green Building, Urban Ecology, GIS

Advisor: Yi Qiang

MA, Ross Winans, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Ross Winans

winansw@hawaii.edu

Research Interests: Remote Sensing, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), Watershed Management, Natural Resource Management

Advisor: Qi Chen