Department of Geography and Environment Faculty

Our faculty offers world-class geographic knowledge and expertise at local, national and international scales, with a special focus on Asia and the Pacific.


David Beilman

Associate Professor, Undergraduate Chair
Office: Saunders 419
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7311
Email: beilman@hawaii.edu
Biogeography, Climate Change, Ecosystems

Qi Chen

Professor
Office: Saunders 435
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3524
Email: qichen@hawaii.edu
Remote Sensing, GIS, Environmental Science

Thomas Giambelluca

Professor
Office: Saunders 417
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7390
Email: thomas@hawaii.edu
Climatology, Hydrology, Ecohydrology

Hong Jiang

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 437
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8164
Email: hjiang@hawaii.edu
Culture, Perception of Nature, China

Reece Jones

Professor, Department Chair
Office: Saunders 412
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7683
Email: reecej@hawaii.edu
Political Geography, Geopolitics, Borders

Lisa C. Kelley

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 420
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7016
Email: lckelley@hawaii.edu
Political Ecology, Agrarian Studies, Land Use

Camilo Mora

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 413
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7093
Email: cmora@hawaii.edu
Biodiversity Threats and Conservation

Mary Mostafanezhad

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 415
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-0653
Email: mostafan@hawaii.edu
Human-Envr. Relations, Tourism, Development

Yi Qiang

Assistant Professor
Office: Saunders 416
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7526
Email: yi.qiang@hawaii.edu
GIS, Visual Analytics, Geocomputation

Alison Rieser

Professor
Office: Saunders 440
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8467
Email: rieser@hawaii.edu
Ocean Geopolitics, Marine Environmental Law

Krisna Suryanata

Professor, Graduate Chair
Office: Saunders 438
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7384
Email: krisnawa@hawaii.edu
Pol. Ecology, Ag & Food, Comm-based Mgmt.

Ross Sutherland, Faculty, Department of Geography, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa

Ross Sutherland

Professor
Office: Saunders 439
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7157
Email: sutherla@hawaii.edu
Fluvial Geomorphology, Soil Erosion

Brian Szuster

Associate Professor
Office: Saunders 436
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7345
Email: szuster@hawaii.edu
Aquaculture, Seafood, Coastal Tourism, EIA


Emeriti Faculty

  • Sen-Dou Chang (sdchang@hawaii.edu) - Regional Geography, Urban Geography, Cultural Geography, China
  • Murray Chapman (murrayc@hawaii.edu) - Human Mobility, Generational Change, Islander Identities, Indigenous Epistemologies
  • Roland Fuchs (fuchsr@eastwestcenter.org) - Climate Change and Adaptation, Asian Cities
  • Gary Fuller (gfuller@hawaii.edu) - Population, Geography of Prophylaxis, Population and Political Instability
  • Nancy Davis Lewis (LewisN@eastwestcenter.org) - Geography of Health and Disease, Human Dimensions of Global Change
  • Brian J. Murton (bmurton@hawaii.edu) - Colonialism, Historical Geography, Cultural Landscape, India, New Zealand
  • Mark Ridgley (mark@markridgley.com) - Urban Environmental Services, Coastal & Marine Resource Management
  • Lyndon Wester (wester@hawaii.edu) - Plant Geography, Alien Plant Invasions, Ecosystem Degradation and Restoration